“Free Hugs”

My mother lost her job yesterday so I was in a pretty fretful mood as I distractedly trudged down 14th street in Columbia Heights last night.   I almost stumbled into a young man standing in the middle of the sidewalk. He was holding a cardboard sign, the kind of placard that would normally read “homeless, please help,” “judgment day hath come,” or some other plea for help or harbinger of doom. In other words, the type of sign that my mom and I will be sporting soon. There are always several people asking for at least literal change at this corner, outside of the Target and the Washington Sports Club in this gentrifying neighborhood. Recently I’ve been investing heavily in this crowd, the microfinance division of the Karma Bank, with very little return but to my surprise this man’s sign instead said, “Free Hugs.” As I approached he opened his arms wide and asked quizically, “Spread the love?” With befuddled amusement I thought,  Who is this guy? And what am I doing with my life? And sure, I could use a hug today. As I leaned into his embrace, our two puffy coats collided in a squish that sent a couple stray down feathers into the air. We stayed like that for a couple of awkward moments outside of the Target before I pried, “So, what’s your deal?” He just chuckled. “No deal! Just, why not?” “Well,” I pointed out, “it’s cold out, for one.” With a wink he quipped, “Yeah but I feel so much warmer now!”

One Response to ““Free Hugs””

  1. That story made my day!

Leave a comment